Our Team

group of ring tailed lemurs

Our people make everything possible. At NAAEE, we strive towards an inclusive and innovative workplace—one that encourages growth and fosters creativity, while keeping our mission in mind. Just like the expansive field of environmental education, our staff has a vast breadth of knowledge and varied academic and professional backgrounds. Learn more about who we are and how we work to provide education we need for the world we want. 


Judy Braus

Executive Director

Executive Director
Read bio

Karyl Askew

At Large Board Member

Program Evaluation Consultant
Karyl Askew Consulting, LLC.
Read bio

Dawn Chávez

At Large Board Member

Executive Director
Asheville GreenWorks
Read bio

Jaime González


Houston Healthy Cities Director
The Nature Conservancy
Read bio

Kenji Hakuta

At Large Board Member

Lee L. Jacks Professor, Emeritus
Stanford Graduate School of Education
Read bio

Will Parish

At Large Board Member

Founder and President
Ten Strands
Read bio

Diego Roman

At Large Board Member

Assistant Professor in Bilingual/Bicultural Education
UW-Madison School of Education
Read bio

William Street

At Large Board Member

Senior Vice President
Indianapolis Zoo
Read bio


Advisory Council

Nicole Ardoin

Associate Professor
Stanford University

Paul Hart

Professor of Education
University of Regina

Ashley Hoffman

Executive Director
Southeastern Environmental Education Alliance

Charissa Jones

Outreach and Inclusion Coordinator
OSU Extension Service -- Outdoor School

A Michael Marzolla

4-H Youth Development Advisor Emeritus
University of California

Brenda Metcalf

Executive Director
Environmental Education Council of Ohio

Angela Mooney D'Arcy

Executive Director
Sacred Places Institute for Indigenous Peoples Sustainability Initiative

Taylor Morton

Co-Lead, Environmental Health and Justice Leadership Training
WE ACT for Environmental Justice/The University of Pennsylvania

Darryl Ramos-Young

Public Information Specialist
West Basin Municipal Water District

Bora Simmons

National Project for Excellence in Environmental Education

Elena Takaki

Director of Conservation Education and Professional Development
Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies

eePRO Group Leaders

Maya Alexander

Young and Emerging Professionals Group Moderator

Potomac River Program Manager/Educator
Chesapeake Bay Foundation
Read bio

Sarah Bodor

Advocacy, Policy, and Civic Engagement and Affiliates Group Moderator

Director, Affiliate Relations and Advocacy
Read bio

Rebecca Franzen

Higher Education Group Moderator

Associate Professor
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, Wisconsin Center for Environmental Education
Read bio

Helen Kuhns

Spirituality and EE Group Moderator

Assistant Director & Pearl Programs Coordinator
Lynnhaven River NOW
Read bio

Carlos Perez Murcia

Global EE Group Moderator

Community Manager, Environmental Educator and Scuba Diving Instructor
Fundación Mundo Azul, Centro CIMAP.
Read bio

Bruce Young

Affiliates and Equity & Inclusion Group Moderator

Affiliate Relations Specialist (he/they)
Read bio